Indian delegation goes to Australia to learn more about GST 5/5 (1)

Interview: reporter "Roushika Reikhi" with first finance minister of Telengana "Shri Etela Rajender"

A delegation of state finance ministers from India visited Sydney from 27-30 September 2015 and met with representatives of the Australian government to learn more about GST and related concerns. The GST (Goods and Services Tax) Bill is a model of taxation where an umbrella tax of certain percentage is charges on all goods and services at all stages of their life cycle from manufacture to sale and consumption. Any party that has paid GST twice will be refunded. GST has raised a lot of concerns in India and more needs to be learnt about it before it can be successfully implemented in the country.

The first finance minister of Telengana was also present. Shri Etela Rajender belongs to the Telengana Rashtra Samithi party and is its floor leader in the state assembly. He gave an exclusive interview to +91news in which he talked about the visit. He said that it was a four day trip to learn about the implementation of GST and its merits by studying the Australian model, which has been under implementation since 2000. Among other chit chat he praised the beauty of Australia and discussed the need to build a tension free society.

The delegates met with representative of the New South Wales Government including Mike Baird (Premier), Gladys Berejiklian (Treasurer), Stuart Ayres (Minister for Trade). They also met Blair Comely (Secretary, Department of Premier and Cabinet) and Dr Ken Henry (former Secretary to the Treasury).

The delegation consisted of:

Name Position Representative of
Shri Manish Sisodia Finance Minister Government of NCT of Delhi
Shri Yanamala Ramakrishnudu Finance Minister Government of Andhra Pradesh
Capt. Abhimanyu Finance Minister Government of Haryana
Shri Prakash Chaudhary Excise & Taxation Minister Government of Himachal Pradesh
Shri Jayant Malaiya Finance & Commercial Taxes Minister Government of Madhya Pradesh
Sardar Parminder Singh Dhindsa Finance & Planning Minister Government of Punjab
Shri Rajpal Singh Shekhawat Urban Development and Housing Minister Government of Rajasthan
Shri M.C. Sampath Commercial Taxes and Registration Minister Government of Tamil Nadu
Shri Eatela Rajender Finance & Civil Supplies Minister Government of Telangana
Shri Biresh Kumar Principle Secretary, Commercial Taxes Minister Government of Uttar Pradesh
Shri Sandeep Kumar Development Commissioner/Secretary (Taxation) UT of Daman & Diu and Dadra & Nagar Haveli
Dr. Rajan Khobragade Commissioner, Commercial Taxes Government of Kerala
Shri Dilip Jawalkar Commissioner, Commercial Taxes Government of Uttarakhand
Dr. P. D. Vaghela Commissioner, Commercial Taxes Government of Gujarat
Shri Navin Kumar Chairman (GSTN) Goods and Services Tax Network
Shri Satish Chandra Member Secretary Empowered Committee of State Finance Ministers
Smt. Rashmi Verma Special Secretary, Department of Revenue Government of India

Please rate this