Nepal’s new PM

Source: Niranjan Shrestha/Associated Press

Khadga Prasad Sharma Oli was sworn in as the new prime minister of Nepal on Monday. Oli is the chairman of the Communist Party of Nepal and was elected as the country’s prime minister on Sunday, after he secured 338 out of 598 votes from lawmakers. He was supported by 14 other parties including the Rastriya Prajatantra Party-Nepal, Madhesi Janadhikar Forum-Loktantrik and the UCPN-Maoist.

He has declared the posts he will be awarding to the ministers in his cabinet.

Minister Party Post
Bijaya Kumar Gachhadar Madhesi Janadhikar Forum-Loktantrik Deputy premier, Physical Infrastructure and Transport minister
Kamal Thapa Rastriya Prajatantra Party-Nepal Deputy premier, Foreign minister
Haribol Gajurel Communist Party of Nepal (Maoist) Agricultural Development Minister
Agni Kharel Communist Party of Nepal (United Marxist Leninist) Law, Justice, Constituent Assembly and Parliamentary Affairs Minister
Som Pandey Communist Party of Nepal (United Marxist Leninist) Industry Minister

The posts for two other ministers: Satya Narayan Mandal and  Ram Kumar Subba will be announced shortly.

Please rate this