Indian Presidential Elections 2017 – Who will be the Next ?


India’s presidential election will be held on 17th July 2017 as Pranab Mukherjee’s 5 year presidential term comes to a nearing end. The counting of votes is on July 20, four days before the term ends. The new president will take charge on July 21. The president cannot be elected by people of the state themselves in India.

The president is elected by the Electoral College, which consists of both houses of parliament i.e. Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha and elected member of legislative assemblies of state and union territories.

As on June 2017, the electoral comprises of 776 MPs and 4120 MLAs. While all MPs bear equal vote, the weightage of MLA voters differs from state to state. MLAs from UP carry the highest value, those from Sikkim carry the least. The winning candidate needs to secure a certain quota of votes, which is 50% of the total votes polled + 1.

The election commission conducts the elections to the office of president. The counting of vote takes place in Delhi.

Please rate this